AFRIMMA 2020: Nigerian artists bags highest number of award

The year 2020  AFRIMMA with the theme titled ‘Destination Africa’ marks the 7th edition of the event award event being held. For the first time, the awards held virtually aired on AFRIMMA YouTube page hosted by WFAA’s Tashara Parker.

The award was an interesting experience as viewers were entertained with various performances from celebrities across the African entertainment industry.

AFRIMMA celebrates African music and is not limited to Afrobeats but includes alot of other African genres including Assiko, Bongo, Decale, Funana, Genge, Highlife, Kwaito, Lingala, Soukous and alot more.

There were performances from veteran Fally Ipupa, Nigeria red-hot, Rema and Soraia Ramos from Cape Verde. Best African Dancer, Poco Lee and other artistes like Eddy Kenzo, Gaz Mawete, Nadia Nakai and Master KG were other performers of the night. Prospective winners were awarded on 15th Sunday November 2020. With Nigerians musicians making us proud as they come home with awards.

MOST READ:  4 reasons the gig isn't for you

Nigerian entertainers who copped several awards at the recently held AFRIMMA 2020 include Burna Boy, Simi, Don Jazzy, DJ Cuppy, Flavour, Rema, Poco Lee, Mercy Chinwo and Umu Obiligbo.


AFRIMMA Awards 2020 - Davido, Burna Boy, Who Will Win

Below is the full  list of AFRIMMA 2020 winners:

Best Male West Africa
Rema – Nigeria

Best Female West Africa
Simi – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa
Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania

Best Female East Africa
Nandy – Tanzania

Best African Group
Umu Obiligbo – Nigeria

Best Male Central Africa
Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Female Central Africa
Soraia Ramos- Cape Verde

Best Male Southern Africa
Master KG- South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa
Sho Madjozi – South Africa

Best Newcomer
Zuchu – Tanzania

Crossing Boundaries with Music Award
Burna Boy–Nigeria

Artist of The Year
Master KG– South Africa

Best Gospel
Mercy Chinwo – Nigeria

Best Live Act
Flavour – Nigeria

Best Female Rap Act
Eno Barony – Ghana

Best Male Rap Act
Nasty C – South Africa

Best Collaboration
Master KG x Burna Boy – Jerusalema Remix

Song of The Year
Master KG – Jerusalema

Best Video Director
TG Omori – Nigeria

Best Dj Africa
DJ Cuppy– Nigeria

Best African Dj USA
DJ Fully Focus – Kenya

AFRIMMA Video of The Year
Gaz Mawete ft Fally Ipupa – C’est Rate

Music Producer of The Year
Kabza De Small – South Africa

Best African Dancer
Poco Lee – Nigeria

Best Lusophone
Calema – Sao Tome

AFRIMMA 2020 Leadership Award – Don Jazzy

AFRIMMA Excellence Award
Mr. John Olajide

Best Francophone
Fally Ipupa – Congo

Radio/TV Personnel Of The Year – James Onen – Uganda

Master KG, took home the biggest awards which include Artist of The Year Award, Song of The Year, Best Male Southern Africa and Best Collaboration with Burna Boy on Jerusalema remix.

MOST READ:  Burna Boy diversion from Raggae to Fela's Afro Beat

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.